Green Goddess Salad

This salad rocks. I’ve eaten it three times within the past week and I could eat it again today. Thank you to my friend Blake for serving it for dinner last week! The best way to enjoy this meal is outside with friends and a nice cold glass of white wine! I’ve adapted the recipe to make it a heartier salad which also included leaving out the bread so it’s gluten free. The salad dressing is really the star here and I’ve already got a list of ways to use it in other dishes (next up I’m thinking shrimp and pasta!) I forgot to take pictures of the dressing ingredients but you’ll find them listed below. Also left out of the ingredients picture is the sliced almonds that we topped the salad with. Oops!

The awesome thing about this salad is that the dressing can be made ahead of time and the veggies can be prepped ahead of time so you can have dinner on the table in under 10 minutes. I love rotisserie chicken, there is something about it that is so delicious! If it wasn’t so hot here then I probably would have roasted my own chicken but then my cooking time would have been a lot longer. When it’s summer out I love the simplicity of being able to throw together a healthy meal that doesn’t take long and doesn’t require the oven or stove. The awesome thing about this salad is you can adapt it to your liking. Don’t like olives? Leave them out! Love beets? Toss them in (I bet they’d be delicious!) This could even be vegetarian if you omit the chicken.

Green Goddess Salad (adapted from Food&Wine)

1 cucumber, peeled and sliced in half. Cut into small bite size pieces.

1 bell pepper, sliced thinly

1 avocado, diced

1 pint cherry tomatoes sliced in half

2 ribs celery thinly sliced (thinly sliced is key for this salad!)

2 ears of corn, sliced off the cob (I know there’s only one pictured, I wanted more corn though)

1/2 red onion, thinly sliced

1 rotisserie chicken, shredded

1/2 a package of goat cheese, crumbled

1. Place all veggies except the avocado in a large bowl.

2. Top with chicken

3. Toss with dressing (see recipe below)

4. Dish into individual bowls, top with goat cheese, avocado and sliced almonds

Dressing:

I wasn’t too exact with my measuring here, it’s all about taste though. If you don’t like one of the herbs then swap it out with something you do like. I’m sure cilantro would be good in here I just don’t care for it (gasp!)

1 bunch flat leaf parsley

1 package of dill

1 package of oregano

1 package of chives

2 cloves garlic

6 oz. container of plain greek yogurt

1/2 a small container of sour cream ( I just scooped out what was left of ours)

the juice of 2 lemons

salt and pepper to taste

1. Trim herbs from stems and in food processor (I used a Vitamix)

2. Add in remaining ingredients and blend.

Pour into mason jar and stick in fridge. Use a generous helping when dressing the salad. Leftover dressing will keep for two days.

Last night when we at this we had some baguette that we served with goat cheese and a little ramekin filled with excess dressing for dunking. It was delicious! Try this out, I promise it’s delicious and a filling meal (even the boy agreed the first time we ate it and has been raving about it since.) Great for a quick lunch or dinner this weekend, especially if you’re busy. I know we are! (10 days ’til our wedding!) Happy Weekend!

2 thoughts on “Green Goddess Salad

Leave a Reply

