Dinner and other stuff

It’s no secret that I love food. Eating it and cooking it makes me happy. I love going out to eat but our wallets, well they don’t love that so much! So we’ve been making a really big effort to eat at home. I can happily say that in the past 11 days we’ve only eaten out twice for dinner. Once by choice {new years day dinner demanded a delicious burger from The Cherry Cricket. Aside from being tasty it was a great hangover cure. Not that I would know that. Ahem.} The other dinner out wasn’t by choice. It was when my Le Cruset pot decided to implode and destroy both the pot and my dinner. And yes, there were tears involved as well as many, many swear words. {I have no idea what happened with the pot, it’s currently back at headquarters being looked at but I do know for sure that it wasn’t something I did!!} To top all of that off we don’t have a working oven. It’s winter. I want my oven! I want to roast, braise and bake things! Thankfully it will be fixed on Tuesday but we’ve had to be creative with our meals! Lots of stove top and crock pot meals here.

Our eating habits at home are typically very healthy. I love fruits and vegetables and happily incorporate them into our meals. The boy, ahem the husband, is back on his low carb kick so no pasta, bread, potatoes, etc. I’ve been on a total citrus kick and can not stop eating grapefruits. Two nights ago I whipped up this salad and then last night I kicked it up a notch and I think I’ve found my new go to meal. It was so light and refreshing and totally healthy. It could be adapted in so many ways! I may have gone overboard on our date night in last night with the filet and this salad but I know that the boy, ahem the husband, certainly loved it so I suppose that’s what matters right?

What have you been eating this year? I can’t stop eating grapefruit, carrots, cheese and crackers. I’ve passed the candy aisle at the grocery store a bazillion times but nothing sounds good {which is so strange to me because I have the biggest sweet tooth!}

IMG_0659

IMG_0669*photo 1: the first salad I made, no shrimp, quick vinaigrette with champagne vinegar, meyer lemon olive oil and Dijon mustard. photo 2: date night dinner, same salad kicked up a notch, see recipe below. sauteed mushrooms, filet crusted with special spice rub and mashed cauliflower*

 

 

The Best Salad Ever

Bibb Lettuce (or whatever you have on hand or enjoy)

2 grapefruits, segmented with the juice squeezed

1 avocado sliced and tossed with grapefruit segments and juice

10-12 shrimp

salt

pepper

cayenne pepper

garlic powder

butter

sliced almonds (these are our favorite ones)

olive oil

optional: Blue Cheese

 

-Wash and dry your lettuce, set aside

-I used salt, pepper, cayenne, and garlic powder to season my shrimp but any seasoning will do. I probably used a 1/4 teaspoon of each but I just dumped everything into a small bowl, eyeballing measurements.

-peel and de-vein your shrimp (I bought frozen, raw shrimp that had all that done from Costco!) Make sure they are DRY. Season your shrimp with your spice mixture.

-In a skillet, heat 1 tablespoon of butter and when it’s nice and hot place the shrimp in your pan. Remember you don’t want to over cook your shrimp! Once they turn pink and are no longer translucent they are done. I cooked mine for about 2 minutes per side.

Time to assemble your salad!

Place your lettuce on a plate. Top with the grapefruit/avocado mixture. Drizzle some of the grapefruit juice on top. Sprinkle on sliced almonds. Top with salt and pepper to taste. Arrange shrimp on top of your salad and then drizzle a good olive oil on top. If you like blue cheese that would make a nice addition (so I’ve heard!)

Enjoy!

This makes a great side salad or could be a meal in itself. Would also be delicious with pomegranate seeds if you have some on hand.

Leave a Reply

