January 30

I am feeling stuck. I have a long list of things I want to do and an even longer list of things I need to do but I can’t seem to find the motivation to do any of them.

The one thing that I do seem able to do? Cook. Not a bad thing I suppose since it’s helping us eat healthier and eat in. I’ve been trying to cook new things from all the cookbooks I’ve earmarked over the years. This week on our menu I have two new recipes: mustard pork chops with apples and onions from Dinner: A Love Story as well as balsamic + beer braised short ribs with parsnip puree from Smitten Kitchen. Both of the women who wrote these books have amazing food blogs and tell stories which I love.

We had the pork chops last night and they were delicious. Will definitely make it onto our rotation of meals (love that!) I of course didn’t take any pictures while cooking. What is wrong with me?! One day I suppose. One day. I served the pork chops with a simple green salad and sauteed rainbow chard with garlic and pine nuts. Pretty delicious, fed three adults plus enough for left overs for the boy, ahem the husband to take for lunch today. The best part about the meal? Everything was on hand, the meat came from the freezer and the chard was in the fridge (I may have forgotten about it…) Cost of this meal?

Pork Chops (King Soopers) under $5.00 for 6 chops

Rainbow Chard (Whole Foods) $2.00

Garlic (King Soopers) $0.25 and that is for the whole bulb

Pine Nuts (Cosco) No idea but it’s a giant bag and we probably used a portion that would equal $0.50

Salad Stuff (King Soopers) $3.00

Assorted oils, butters and dressings used in the meal we’ll count at $2.00 (I’m sure that’s high but whatever)

Total for our meal that served 3 adults and 1 leftover lunch? $12.75

Proof that eating in is waaaaaaaay cheaper and clearly healthier. $3.18 per person? That rocks.

Hmmm. Now that I’ve broken up the cost of our meal I think I want to do that more often and see how it works out. Especially since I have a weakness for Whole Foods. Perhaps a post on how to shop there since I’ve learned tricks (things there can actually be cheaper than elsewhere! It’s true!)

Short ribs are up tomorrow night. If I am not overly exhausted perhaps I’ll remember to take pictures.

Time to eat a grapefruit, all this food talk has made me hungry!

Leave a Reply

