braised short ribs. your dinner just got owned!

that my friends is exactly what the boy, ahem the husband, said when we sat down for dinner tonight. and then he leaned over and told me it was amazing. that doesn’t happen all the time so I was one happy girl (I mean he tells me dinner is good and everything but this got a kick ass reaction!) seriously people this recipe is to die for. I only wish I had more short ribs on hand because somehow I only bought 5 and I forgot how much they can shrink up. pureed parsnips are delicious. they’re sweet like carrots but just as tasty as mashed potatoes. what wouldn’t be if you’re mixing it with butter, cream and horseradish? kick it up a notch by using extra hot horseradish and lots of freshly cracked black pepper. need a delicious recipe for a dinner party? perhaps one for valentines day? or to woo someone you love? go, no scratch that, run, to the nearest book store and buy The Smitten Kitchen. I can’t recommend it enough. and with an endorsement like that from the boy, ahem the husband, you know it’s gotta be good.

since I mentioned the cost of our dinner yesterday I’ll do it again. this dinner was more expensive than last night but it all balances out. this dinner had no leftovers (boo!) and was only for two of us.

short ribs (Whole Foods) $11.00 for just about 2lbs

parsnips (king soopers) $3.00

butter, horseradish and garlic we’ll call it even at about $1.50

total: $15.50

definitely can’t get something this delicious at a restaurant for $7.75 per person

shortribswhat are you waiting for?! go!!

Leave a Reply

