Green Goodness

This year my body seems to be surviving without coffee…I know, I know how is that even possible? I can’t exactly tell you but I can say that smoothies have to play some part in it. I can go days without caffeine and not get a headache {yes!!} and I feel so much better when I start my day with a smoothie. Usually it’s a whole bunch of spinach assorted fruits (I tend to lean towards frozen pineapple, peaches and mango) but anything is delicious.

Fast forward to last weekends incredible trip to San Francisco. We had just finished brunch at Foreign Cinema (meh) and were walking towards Tartine Bakery for croissants when we stumbled across Sidewalk Juice. There was a crowd of people out front of it which is what caught our attention so we stopped and read the gigantic menu for a good five minutes. After deciding that we should split one since we’d just brunched and were on our way to get more to eat I told the boy, ahem, the husband that he could pick whatever he wanted. His choice? The Kale Colada Smoothie {fresh organic kale, coconut juice, pineapple, coconut shreds, pineapple sorbet and ice.} I was intrigued by the kale and the coconut…I am a huge kale fan but was yet to incorporate it into a smoothie and coconut has never been my thing. This smoothie though? This smoothie changed my mind. I seriously dreamed of it all week until I could find the time to head to Whole Foods to get lacinto kale. The result was a sweet yet slightly tart smoothie with a hint of coconut that was so refreshing.

I’ve made it twice now at home and I am hooked. I drank a 22 oz life factory water bottle full for breakfast and didn’t need to eat until late afternoon. I am also in love with the life factory water bottles because they are glass, hold the perfect amount of smoothie and keep them cold. Want to make your own? Check out my recipe for my take on the awesome sidewalk juice drink we savored in between insane amounts of food while walking the streets of San Francisco!

kale colada ingredients1

 

 

2 cups frozen pineapple

a healthy handful or two of lacinato kale

3 tablespoons of sorbet (I couldn’t find plane pineapple but the one that I bought is amazing)

8 oz coconut juice (NOT coconut water!)

a handful of coconut flakes (the first time I made this I made it without the flakes and it was still delicious)

 

Blend pineapple, sorbet, juice and coconut flakes together until smooth. Add in kale and continue to blend. Adjust ingredients to your liking, less liquid if you like a thicker smoothie, more if you like a juice like one. If you use fresh pineapple be sure to add a handful of ice cubes so your smoothie is cold.

 

kale colada

 

I’m excited to build off of this recipe, I’m thinking mango would be a delicious addition as would peach. Have any delicious smoothie recipes to share? I’m always looking for new ones. If you need ideas you can check out my pinterest board or go look at the Sidewalk Juice website for ideas, they have a ton of smoothies listed.

Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

