San Francisco {Part 1}

Oh San Francisco. You stole my heart. Like the Mowgli’s said…“I lost my head in San Francisco” {side note. I’m obsessed with this song. It’s my happy dance song. That is all}

The boy, ahem the husband, and I went on a short getaway last month. We needed to go somewhere and his birthday was coming up a few weeks later so we decided to make it a M&M trip. We travel a good deal but typically wind up going to visit someone, friends, family, you name it. A new rule was born this year; we have to take 2 trips a year that don’t involve visiting people. They don’t have to involve an airplane but there must be 2 getaways where it’s just us. We’ll see if 2 a year happen but it’s a nice goal. We laid Seattle, San Francisco and Austin on the table. Austin was way expensive at the time so we knocked that idea off for now. Debating between the two cities we went with SF because it was going to be the Chinese New Year when we were there. It was the BEST decision ever. I fell in love with the food, the city and the people. Minor set back when we got there and realized that the Chinese New Year celebration wasn’t until two weeks after our trip, whoops. I still have no idea how that happened but we managed to have a blast regardless.

I posted on Facebook and asked everyone where to go, what to see and what to eat. I got some awesome suggestions, too many for one trip, and we happily explored the city for 4 days. We stayed at the Hyatt Regency in the Financial District. The hotel was good, nothing fancy but the service was awesome and our bed was comfortable. Extra points for location! Being right across the street from the Ferry Building was great. We arrived at 12:30 Friday afternoon and were able to check in early which was great. We also were lucky enough to score late check-out and then they stored our bags so we could explore a bit more before leaving. I’d definitely stay here again when we come back!

We walked and walked and walked ALL over the city. The one thing I’d struggled with was if we should buy some sort of transportation pass. I’d heard mixed ideas from people but I’m so glad we didn’t! We walked so much that I didn’t feel guilty about the insane amount of amazing food that we ate. We wound up with perfect weather, especially when we were in the sun. We took advantage of public transportation here and again but mostly we wound up walking. The LONGEST walk of the trip was definitely when we started at the Ferry Building and then walked up to Pier 39, explored for 2.5 seconds before I couldn’t handle the tourists anymore and then continued to explore, walked up Lombard St. and then all the way back to our hotel. Holy Walk.

We ate our way through the city! Some of my favs; Wayfare Tavern, Tartine, Pepples Donuts, MY Chine and Chantal Guillon Macarons. I have so much more to say but I’ll keep this post (semi) short and leave it at that. More in depth reviews to come!

Below you’ll find just a few photos that captured our trip….

SF1                hanging out at pier one *gorgeous pottery at the Ferry Building*I am obsessed with macroons*it’s our street!

SF2                                                 love him* delicious coffee* pretty carousel *full house painted ladies

 

 

Leave a Reply

