San Francisco {Part 2}

I am a total food junkie. While I love to cook I also love to find those amazing restaurants and give them all my money so I can eat everything there. I can say that SF had more than their fair share of these places! I knew that I needed to go to Tartine for a chocolate croissant. I knew that I had to have brunch because SF does brunch. The boy, ahem the husband, had to have Chinese food.

I still can’t stop dreaming about the croissant from Tartine. There was a long line to wait in but I knew that it was going to be worth it. We weren’t hungry since we’d just come from brunch. We finally get to the counter and I was overwhelmed by the aromas of everything there. We picked up a chocolate croissant (huge mistake. should have gotten 2!!) and a ham and cheese croissant along with a few drinks to enjoy a bit later. We walked. and walked. and walked until we finally made it to the park across the street from the painted ladies. Full House anyone? We had our Tartine picnic right across the street with the view of the beautiful victorian houses. Seriously. I can still taste the amazing croissants  Now if only I could have some here…

On our walk back from the park we went through Hayes Valley. I loved it there!  The shops, some restaurants and a macaron store, plus the tree lined streets…it was great. {This trip I fell in love with macarons. I couldn’t get enough. I tried one everywhere I could.} We walked into Chantal Guillon and I instantly knew I had to have some treats. I wound up ordering six but had I known just how incredible they were I would have ordered 2 dozen. No seriously.

Imagefrom left to right: espresso coffee {yummy. good coffee flavor} raspberry lychee {delicious. so light and refreshing} salted caramel {outstanding. the middle was caramel.} coconut lime {yummy. I’m not usually a coconut person but this was good.} passion fruit {delicious! I love the flavor of passion fruit.} dark chocolate yuzu {so yummy. what a great flavor pairing}

When we were in the Ferry Building exploring all the delicious food options we came across the donuts at the end of the building. I ordered one and didn’t even realize they were vegan until I had paid and read the sign. They were outstanding! Seriously the best donuts ever. Pepples Donuts are delicious! I had a salted caramel one and it rocked. I couldn’t stop thinking about these donuts and on Sunday when we were walking from brunch to Tartine we happened to walk past a bake sale and they had the donuts! I was one happy girl. I had lemon poppyseed the second time around. Equally as delicious, really yummy lemon flavor.  Apparently they are open 7 days a week at the Ferry Building. Had I known this I would have been there daily for a donut. Probably better that I didn’t 🙂

Image

Writing this I think that perhaps most of our trip was centered around food! Good thing we both like to eat. And walk…

Our first day we wanted to grab lunch but nothing heavy or crazy. We found ourselves at Wayfare Tavern {Tyler Florence’s restaurant} and we snagged some seats at the bar. We had a light lunch complete with his melt in your mouth popovers. Oh my god. They were so good! We ordered the tartare and the brussle sprouts and the poutine. I had the iced tea which came with a scoop of lemon sorbet in it and a pomegranate simple syrup {best iced tea I have EVER had.} the boy, ahem, the husband, had a local beer. Everything here was wonderful. We could see into the kitchen. Our server was awesome. It was the perfect light(ish) lunch before we went exploring. I wanted to go back for a full meal but there were so many places to see and eat that we never went back. I would certainly go when we fly back to SF!

Image

Have I made your stomach growl? Have you drooled yet? If so then I’ve done my job! More food reviews to come….

enjoy the rest of your weekend….Go ILLINI!

Leave a Reply

