The Right Time Is Now (Well April 1st)

I adore Instagram. There are so many amazing people on there and it’s such a friendly and inspiring community. Recently I’ve seen a Whole 30 being mentioned a lot and it intrigued me. I’ve heard of it before, skimmed the book before but apparently I wasn’t ready to commit at that time. This past week I picked up my very own copy of the book  It Starts With Food by Dallas and Melissa Hartwig. I read the entire thing in 3 days and decided it was past time to reset my body.

I’m uncomfortable in my own skin these days. I’ve been eating like crap for some reason and that’s so not me. I drank soda THREE times this week and I haven’t done that in months. Why did I do it? I have no idea. It wasn’t even good but I kept drinking it until my cup was empty. I also ate fast food one night this week and that pushed me over the edge. It’s like I’m trying to torment my body and punish it. I rarely eat fast food, I love eating fruits and vegetables. I think that my body is screaming at me that it wants help and my brain has finally caught up to the idea. So now I have a plan. Beginning April 1 I will start my Whole 30 journey. I’ve found two new friends on Instagram who are going to start then as well and we’re going to form a little support group which I believe will be incredibly helpful and keep me accountable even more.

This isn’t going to be easy. I love sugar. I also highly enjoy coffee with cream, milk with cereal and cheese and crackers. I’m fairly certain my body does not. So by doing this little reset I’m hoping that my body will take some time to heal and allow me the chance to see what really makes it unhappy. And let’s be honest, I’m also hoping to loose some weight and feel better about myself.

I spent 45 minutes wandering around Whole Foods yesterday and I think the mindset is on it’s way. I picked up items and then debated if they would be a good choice and ultimately they were not. I left with 2 cartons of low sodium organic chicken broth (approved) 2 cans of crushed tomatoes (approved) 1 container of fresh chopped soup veggies (zucchini, green beans, onions, carrots and celery are approved, potatoes are not) 1 can of cannelini beans (not approved) and some fresh pears. I’d say overall that was a good start to resetting my brain!

If you’ve done this before and have tips, please share! If you want to join in that’s great! The more the merrier, go grab a copy of the book and see what it’s all about. I’ll be sharing my journey here, and trying to share pictures and recipes as well. Come back April 1 and join the journey!

 

One thought on “The Right Time Is Now (Well April 1st)

Leave a Reply

