Egg Muffins

In preparation for the start of my Whole 30 journey I spent a lot of time in the kitchen the past two days! One recipe that I’m excited about are my egg muffins. Don’t let the word muffin fool you, they’re simply baked in a muffin pan. They are 100% Whole 30 compliant! The recipe is below, feel free to make it your own as it’s pretty much a blank canvas for breakfast. If you’re starting on your Whole 30 journey tomorrow leave me a message! Do you have a blog or Instagram account you’re using to track your journey? I think support is going to be a huge part of the success. Let’s support one another! Find me on Instagram or here, I’ll probably be over sharing food pictures but that’s what I do 🙂 

Egg Muffins (adapted from Nom Nom Paleo

12 eggs

1/2 onion, minced

5 large mushrooms, sliced thin (I used large white mushrooms, you can use whatever variety you want!) 

1/2 pound asparagus, trim the ends, chop into pieces

1/4 bell pepper, diced 

3 tablespoons ghee or coconut oil

salt

pepper 

Image

Preheat oven to 375˚

Heat your fat in a skillet over medium high heat. Once it is shimmering add in the mushrooms and allow them to cook until they’re light brown. Add in the onions and continue to cook together until the mushrooms are a deep golden brown and the onions are soft and translucent. Add in the peppers and asparagus and cook for another 2-4 minutes until your asparagus is tender. 

In a large bowl, crack all 12 eggs and whisk together. Season with salt and pepper. 

Image

While you wait for your veggies to cool prep your muffin tin. Liberally oil each cup or line with cupcake liners and grease the inside of those.

Once the vegetables have cooled, stir them into the egg mixture. Evenly distribute the eggs into the muffin tin.

Image

Bake in preheated oven for 20-25 minutes, or until the eggs have set. 

Image

Notes:

* I used entirely too many vegetables. Or rather, next time I would prep 2 muffin pans and distribute between 18 instead of 12. Mine puffed up like crazy and poured out of the pan slightly as well. Go easy on the fillings or use an extra muffin tin 🙂

* I used coconut oil to grease my muffin tins and while they came out easily it made a HUGE mess. Next time I think I’ll try the foil cupcake liners and grease those instead. 

Keep in fridge and reheat as necessary throughout the week! I’ll be serving mine with a side of fruit and either some avocado or some chicken sausage. 

2 thoughts on “Egg Muffins

  1. Hi. I start tomorrow, am a little unprepared but committed. Did chicken roasting tonight and hard boiled eggs. I’m posting to whole30 and the Facebook page. Good luck to you

    • It will be great! I know it’s going to be a hard week for me with not being at home and changing gears. Plus I just do better when I food prep. Good Luck! Yay for getting healthy 🙂

Leave a Reply

